Ingrid Jonker Prize 2010 – call for submissions

Ingrid Jonker Prize 2010 – call for submissions


Ingrid Jonker

Ingrid Jonker

The Ingrid Jonker Prize for a first volume of poetry was introduced in July 1965 to honour the memory of Ingrid Jonker, a poet who wrote in both English and Afrikaans. The award, which consists of a medallion and a cash amount, is awarded alternately to an Afrikaans and English debut.


Previous winners (English) of the Ingrid Jonker Prize are: Ruth Miller (1965), Sidney Clouts (1967), Sinclair Beiles (1969), Wally Serote (1973), Mark Swift (1975), Colin Style (1977), Mike Nicol (1979), Jeremy Cronin (1983), Graham Walker (1987), John Eppel (1989), Heather Robertson (1992), Ken Barris (1994), Steve Shapiro (1996), Dan Wylie (1998), Brian Walter (2000), Kobus Moolman (2002), Finuala Dowling (2004) Rustum Kozain (2006) and Megan Hall (2008).


Debut volumes of English poetry published in 2008 and 2009 are eligible for the Ingrid Jonker Prize 2010. The final deadline for submissions is the 1st of November 2010. Self-publications will be considered, but only books with an ISBN will be accepted -no manuscripts, pamphlets or poems published in magazines and/or anthologies.


Please send three copies for adjudication to:


Protea Boekwinkel

c/o Louis Esterhuizen

P.O. Box 657





Danie Marais

Convener: Ingrid Jonker Prize Committee

Bookmark and Share

Comments are closed.